Oklahoma is a motorcycle rider’s dream with its sweeping landscapes and endless views. Unfortunately, with that allure also comes dangers for those riding their bikes. And, when it comes to finding a Motorcycle Accident Attorney in Oklahoma you have a lot of choices. A lot of attorneys saying they are ‘the best’ personal injury lawyer in the area.
However, we know that you don’t only need a good personal injury attorney – you NEED one who knows ALL the finer details of motorcycle injury law. NOT someone who specializes in other fields and also takes on motorcycle accident cases.
That’s where we come in. Our goal is to go through all the personal injury lawyers and include only those who have a vast experience in motorcycle accident cases. Who either ride bikes themselves or are actively participating in the rider community.
Motorcycle Law FAQ in Oklahoma
The short answer to this question is yes: You do require insurance to ride in the State of Oklahoma. The State minimum requirements for insurance are
Despite these being the minimum requirements, it may be wise to consider additional coverage such as Uninsured Motorist Coverage. Nearly 26% of motorists in Oklahoma are uninsured or underinsured, and these preparations could save you a great deal of trouble in the case of an accident.
Did you know: There are 77 counties throughout the great State of Oklahoma that spend $100,000,000 annually maintaining their highways! That’s a lot of road for some fantastic rides!
In order to ride your motorcycle legally within the State of Oklahoma, a state-issued driver’s license with an “M’’ endorsement is required.
In order to obtain your endorsement, you must first pass both a written and vision test to earn a permit. For the next 30 days, you must be supervised by someone who is licensed to operate a motorcycle. After this training period, you can then take your road exam to earn your “M” endorsement.
Exceptions to the above include:
Did you know: Requiring a license to ride a motorcycle in Oklahoma only recently came into law; in fact, its only been law since 2004 during the 2nd Session of the 49th Legislature - It was presented into the legislature in the HOUSE BILL NO. 2637 By Steele of the House and Laster of the Senate - Check it out here: Link
In order to maintain a minimum level of safety, certain equipment is required to ride a motorcycle in the State of Oklahoma.
Did you know: In order to legally operate a motorcycle in Oklahoma, you must have an “M” endorsement on your state-issued driver's license. ... You have to be 14 years old to acquire a motorcycle-only license or be 16 years old to earn a motorcycle endorsement.
When riding on a motorcycle in the State of Oklahoma, a helmet is only required if the rider is under the age of 18.
However, as Oklahoma is an at-fault state which uses the comparative negligence system, failing to wear a helmet can sometimes be considered negligence in the case of an accident.
If you receive head injuries as a result of an accident where you were not wearing a helmet, some juries may consider you to be partially at fault for your injuries, which can reduce the compensation you receive.
For this reason, and to reduce the risk of serious or even fatal injuries, it is still advisable to wear a crash-resistant helmet.
Interesting Fact: Black or White - which helmet color do you prefer? “Although black helmets are popular among motorcyclists, one study determined they offer the least visibility to motorists. Riders wearing a plain white helmet rather than a black one were associated with a 24% lower risk of suffering a motorcycle accident injury or death.” - read all about it on Wikipedia!
Absolutely, though, with few exceptions you’ll have to stay off of public roads, even after getting your ATV registered.
Oklahoma’s many State Parks are home to trails that are often used for ATV riding, and though there are several restrictions on where you can ride on public lands, you’re generally free to ride as you like on private property (as long as the owners are okay with it!)
The times you can take your ATV on public roads are when:
Or when crossing a street connecting one trail to another during daylight hours, with a posted speed limit no higher than 35 miles per hour. In this case, you must come to a full stop before crossing, yielding the right of way to all oncoming traffic.
Unlike in many other states, a Moped is not considered a motorcycle in the State of Oklahoma. However, it still must be registered, tagged, and titled in the State to be driven here.
A Moped requires a Class A, B, C, or D driver’s license to be legally driven. You may not drive a moped on highways or on an interstate.
To be considered a Moped and not a Motorcycle, your Moped must have:
Interesting factoid: The word moped was coined by the Swedish journalist Harald Nielsen in 1952, as a portmanteau of the Swedish word’s "motor" and "pedaler." The claimed derivation from the term motor-velocipede is incorrect. ... Like some of the earliest two-wheeled motorcycles, all mopeds were once equipped with bicycle pedals.
If you have to deal with an Insurance company after a motorcycle accident, you are going to want to make sure you have a knowledgeable and experienced advocate at your side! For you, this, not a daily conversation, and you are not overcoming bias’s built by years of facing this situation, so don’t be naive or trusting when our well being and fair compensation to cover your needs are on the table.
There are different methods of determining how long an injury will impact your life and your livelihood. Insurance companies don’t take that into account. An insurance company will typically multiply the cost of medical bills you have receipts for, by something between one and five - like a sliding scale based on how permanent they deem your injury to be and how much of it was caused by your accident. This is how they calculate “pain and suffering.”
The more severe and permanent your injury is, the higher the number they will use as a multiplier. You, or your advocate, will need to use your best judgment in estimating your pain and suffering, so we highly recommend you choose a seasoned accident lawyer for your advocate! We will make sure your rights and your needs are address to the maximum benefit available for you and your family.
You Matter: Pre-existing conditions do not pre-empt compensation requirements, nor do they dictate that you deserve less than a fair and reasonable settlement that empowers you to regain your productive life!
The cost and long term damages of a traumatic brain injury can be incredibly extensive.
Even minor head injuries, like concussions without loss of consciousness or other long term damage, can cost tens of thousands of dollars in damages, from medical bills, loss of wages, or other sources.
More severe injuries can have lifelong effects that impair an individual's ability to work or engage in other activities that they previously enjoyed. Individuals with severe head injuries are often so badly affected that they might never be able to work again.
The expenses of ongoing treatment, loss of work which could be used to support them and their families, psychological impact (including the cost of counseling), and overall impact on their ability to live their lives can cost you as much as 1.9 million dollars over the course of their lives.
This is only part of why it is important to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible after your injury so that they can support you in receiving fair compensation with a minimal amount of personal stress. If you've received a head injury as a result of a motorcycle accident, contact a Motorcycle Injury Attorney today.
Even if you think you are unharmed and no one else is injured - do not leave the scene or allow the other driver/s to leave the scene. Call the police to attend, also call whatever other emergency services may be required to attend at the scene. If you are able to take pictures of the license plates of anyone involved, take pictures of each and every aspect of the scene, yourself and others involved in the accident. Take pictures of the surroundings, any road hazards, signals, lights, signs, etc.
If you’re not able to collect photos and information on your own, ask a bystander to help you. Jot down his or her information, as well: full name, phone number, and email address.
If you were a bystander or a passenger, you might be covered by the uninsured motorist clause of the driver’s insurance policy. Make sure you have a copy of the police report filed on the accident and the
But the sad fact is, no matter who you were in this situation, no one else is watching out for your best interests, except you. This is where an experienced and seasoned advocate like a motorcycle accident lawyer can make all the difference in the world for you! They can be your voice, so you are seen and heard in the recovery process with the least amount of push back possible. Call us for a consultation today, let’s see if we can advocate for you!