Biker JusticeBiker Justice Biker Justice

Arizona

Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorneys

Get the Arizona Motorcycle Legal Help You Demand, So You Can Ride Hard.

The very last thing you should have to worry about after a motorcycle accident is the quality of your attorney. This is the driving passion behind this directory! We’re here to ensure that every single lawyer featured in the Biker Justice USA directory is not only highly experienced but also passionate about supporting riders like you!

Our goal is to support you and other motorcyclists like you during times of crisis so that you can get the support you deserve and the compensation you need to move on with your life.

Motorcycle injury law is a specialty in itself. Below you’ll find the Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorneys that has shown their ability to support riders no matter what it takes.

Samuel P. Moeller, ESQ.

Samuel P. Moeller, ESQ.

https://www.spmoellerlaw.com

Law Offices Of Samuel P. Moeller, PLLC
1419 North 3rd Street , Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85004

Telephone number 1-(602) 903-1083

View profile Start your case review

Motorcycle Law FAQ in Arizona

The Most Commonly Asked Questions from Riders Like You.

After an accident, what should I do with my motorcycle?

Do I need insurance to ride my motorcycle in Arizona?

Other than my insurance, what do I need to ride in Arizona?

How long do I have to make a claim after an accident in Arizona?

How do I get my motorcycle license in Arizona?

Can more than one motorcyclist ride in the same lane in Arizona?

How do I register my motorcycle in Arizona?

What do I need to know to ride my Moped in Arizona?

What should I do first after an accident in Arizona?


In the time after an accident, your motorcycle can be an important piece of evidence, so you do not want to take it in for repairs immediately or to discard your motorcycle.

It is important that you leave your motorcycle as close to its condition at the time of the accident as possible until you have consulted with an experienced Phoenix motorcycle accident attorney so that they can use it to help in the investigation into your accident. Experts can use your motorcycle and other evidence such as photographs of the scene or witnesses to determine things like the speed of the vehicles involved in the accident or the angles and force of impacts, helping to prove if you were not at fault for your accident.

- Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

A cool fact and a cool destination for a ride! - The London Bridge was purchased in 1964 by Robert P. McCulloch, Sr. for $2.46 million, then dismantled and shipped by boat from England to the U.S. It was rebuilt on a peninsula on Lake Havasu in 1971 for an additional $5.1 million.

⏶ Back to Top


Unfortunately, motorcycle liability insurance is absolutely required in order to ride in the state of Arizona.

The minimum requirements for insurance in Arizona are:

  • $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in an accident
  • $30,000 for total bodily injury or death in an accident (i.e., for all persons harmed in one accident)
  • $10,000 for property damage per accident

If you are found to be riding without maintaining at least these minimum requirements of insurance, your motorcycle registration or even your driver's license could be suspended. Restoring your license and registration can be a very long, expensive procedure, so it is best to make sure that you are properly ensured before getting in the saddle.

- Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

Cool summer bike ride event? - How about taking in the 18th Annual Bluegrass on the Beach Music Festival March 6th - March 8th, 2020 - All-inclusive packages are available, which include tickets to the 3-day event and camping within Lake Havasu State Park.

⏶ Back to Top


Before hitting the road on your motorcycle in Arizona, both the rider and motorcycle need to meet a few basic requirements.

A rider must have a Class M license in order to operate a motorcycle. If they are under the age of 18, they must also wear a helmet. Riders over the age of 18 do not, at present, require a helmet, though this may change if HB 2246 (proposed on April 22, 2019) were to pass. If your motorcycle does not have a windshield, riders of all ages are also required to wear protective glasses, goggles, or a transparent face shield.

 Your motorcycle also must have all of the following:

  • A rearview mirror
  • A proper seat
  • Footrests
  • The original manufacturer’s muffler (or equivalent noise-reducing parts if the muffler is removed)
  • Between 1 and 2 headlamps.
  • A tail lamp that illuminates the license plate (white light only)
  • Stoplights (red light only)

 - Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

⏶ Back to Top


The amount of time you have to file a claim after an accident, referred to as the Statute of Limitations, is 2 years in the State of Arizona.

This period is reduced to 180 days if you are filing a claim against a public employee, so action in those circumstances must be quick. Consulting an experienced Motorcycle Accident Attorney as soon as possible is key to your success.

Often, insurance companies will try to delay or lowball you. They may ask for statements or for you to sign a waiver. You do not have to do so, and should not agree to before you have first spoken with your attorney. An experienced attorney will know how to handle these companies and will protect your interests while seeking to get you the compensation you deserve.

- Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

⏶ Back to Top


The process for getting a motorcycle endorsement (which is an addition to your normal driver’s license) is both fairly simple and inexpensive.

In order to get your motorcycle endorsement, you must first be at least 16 years old. If you are under the age of 18, you must have held your learner’s permit for at least 6 months and must submit a form signed by a guardian that you have at least 30 hours of driving experience.

You must pass a knowledge exam, a riding test, and a vision exam. The easiest way to get through these is by taking an approved rider training program. Getting your endorsement added to your driver's license will cost you $7.

Arizona also acknowledges Motorcycle-specific licenses and Rider Education from other States, if you have received training or licensing for your motorcycle in another state before moving to Arizona.

 - Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

Phoenix facts - While Phoenix is 75 miles from it’s nearest lake, Arizona once had a navy – at its peak, the fleet itself had two vessels. This was formed to defend against a possible invasion by California. The Navy’s fleet was made up of two wooden ferry boats that happened to be in the area. Gov. Moeur even named the boats’ owner admiral of this newly formed Navy. Adm. Nellie T. Bush, yes, a woman, commanded the ships for two days!

⏶ Back to Top


As long as they leave each other enough room to maneuver properly, two (but no more than two) motorcyclists can share a lane riding side by side in the State of Arizona.

This does not mean that you can ride between lanes or enter the lane of another motorist in order to pass. This behavior, known as ‘Lane Splitting’ or ‘White Lining,’ is illegal in Arizona as well as almost every state other than California.

- Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

Bikers and Bird Watching Anyone? - Check out the Bill Williams National Wildlife Refuge, a 6150-acre habitat south of Lake Havasu on the Bill Williams River, a tributary of the Colorado River. Native fish and migrating birds can be found here in abundance.

⏶ Back to Top


According to Arizona Law, you have to register your motorcycle within 15 days of purchase with the Motor Vehicle Division [MHD].

If you’ve purchased your motorcycle from an independent seller, you’ll have to make sure that you have motorcycle insurance first. In order to do so, you’ll have to follow a few simple steps:

Fill out your title and registration application (Form 96-0236).

  • Provide proof of your Arizona Driver’s License
  • Provide a notarized title for your motorcycle, signed by both you and the seller.
  • Prepare for applicable taxes or fees, as well as the $9 registration fee.

If you instead purchased your vehicle from a dealership, you should ask them if there are any steps you need to take. Your dealership will often submit the registration documents on your behalf, but it is still your responsibility to make sure that you are registered and insured.

- Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

Did you know? - Lake Havasu City was established on September 30, 1963, by a resolution of the Mohave County Board of Supervisors as the Lake Havasu Irrigation and Drainage District, making it a legal entity. (The act is referenced in resolution #63-12-1.) The city was incorporated in 1978.

⏶ Back to Top


The requirements and restrictions for a Moped depend largely on the power of its engine, with smaller engines having more lenient restrictions.

For Mopeds with a motor that has a minimum speed of less than 20 MPH, it would be considered an electrically-assisted bicycle. This would mean that it would need to have fully operable pedals but could be ridden anywhere a bicycle could go, including in bicycle lanes or sidewalks. It could not, however, be operated in traffic lanes or on a highway.

If your Moped has a maximum speed greater than 20 MPH but no higher than 25 MPH, it will follow Arizona Moped laws. This would mean that you have to register your Moped once per year before October 31st. According to Arizona Law, you would need insurance for your Moped and a valid driver’s license to operate, and riders under the age of 18 would require a helmet.

Mopeds with a maximum speed higher than 25 MPH would be considered Motorcycles, with all of the requirements associated.

- Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

⏶ Back to Top


Your first priority after an accident is to see to your health. Seek medical attention immediately, and call emergency services (911) to seek medical help and file a police report as soon as possible.

While on the scene, if possible, you or someone capable of assisting you should make a point of getting the other driver(s)’ contact information, license plate numbers and insurance information. If there are any eyewitnesses, you will want to get their contact information as well, if possible.

Take pictures of the accident and any damage, including your injuries. Write down any details you can remember about the accident while your memory is fresh, and contact a Motorcycle Accident Attorney as soon as you can so that they can help protect you and investigate your case.

If you have a doctor or therapy appointments, do not miss them. If you have prescriptions for medication, fill them out promptly. All of these can be used as evidence for part of your case or used against you (e.g. having to rely on your word versus theirs) if you ignore them. You want to be as secure as possible knowing that you did everything you could.

- Samuel P. Moeller, Top Arizona Motorcycle Accident Attorney

⏶ Back to Top